Two new publications, one new acceptance

I left you high and dry last week, and I know it. Recent months have been a blow to my ego, and it’s been hard to work up the motivation to write something here when I have nothing to write and I’m feeling bad about my career and myself. I thought about writing a review of Jason Reynolds’ Miles Morales: Spider-Man because I read it and it was pretty good, but we all know my reviews are lousy. There is no analysis, no tease, no connection to other works and broader themes. I write little more than, “I liked it. Read it.” My heart isn’t in writing reviews.

In overcompensation, the universe has given me too much to blog about this week, which will doubtless mean I have nothing else to blog about for the next month or more.

First chronologically was an acceptance. On March 19th, I received an acceptance from In Another Time Magazine for a story of mine entitled “Sudden Death.” If you’re the editor of In Another Time, please don’t read the rest of this paragraph. After more than four years since the first draft, sixteen total drafts, and eighty-two rejections, I doubted I would ever sell this one. I will grant, I had some encouraging words along the way from editors and first readers, but eighty-two rejections speak louder than all the encouraging comments in the world. Imagine my surprise when I didn’t just sell it, but sold it for 1¢/word. I was figuring I would get $5 at the most if I ever sold it at all.

Next was a publication on March 20th. One day short of one year after my acceptance, On Spec published my story “Better Luck Next Time.” I do love how the editor chose to introduce my story and another: “We love to see stories by non-Canadians, to provide a different flavour.” Yes! I made it into the flavorfully-not-Canadian category! I am the soy sauce of Canadian speculative fiction magazines! You can purchase your own personal Andrew Rucker Jones flavor packet from any number of places for $4.99 per issue or a flavor-of-the-season subscription for $14.99 (electronic in both cases, more for paper).

Yesterday, March 21st, Stupefying Stories republished my story “The Job.” It’s short, and it’s free to read. You could go take a refreshing dip right now and be back before your lunch break is over. Then at least you’ll be able to tell your family you did something worthwhile at work today. (Yes, I know you’re reading this at work. I won’t tell.) Do it, do it, do it!

After that, I feel much better about myself and my career, right? You do know the name of this blog, don’t you? No, dear universe, it’s going to take more consistent and more frequent success to cheer me up. Bigger would be nice as well. I’m still hoping to make money doing this someday.

  • Days since I quit my job: 1,726
  • Submissions: 1,666
  • Rejections: 1,484
  • Withdrawals: 78
  • Acceptances: 39!

Leave a comment