Noteworthy rejections this week

Remember last week when I was (almost) relieved to receive a rejection for a story because it was still out at five other markets that would pay significantly more? And remember how I predicted someday I would be delighted to earn $50 for that story and still lose money in the process? Well, the rejections kept rolling in, and now I’m down to only two markets that haven’t responded. Neither of them will take it, I guarantee you.

The more interesting rejection this week was the one I got yesterday. It was addressed to Anthony and was for a story I have never written. In my 1,264 rejections, I believe that was the first time I’ve received someone else’s rejection. I politely informed the editor. Sure enough, this morning I had a brief apology for the mixup in my inbox … and my rejection. I promptly sent the magazine another story. With luck, I won’t get Anwar’s rejection this time.

  • Days since I quit my job: 1,439
  • Submissions: 1,424
  • Rejections: 1,264
  • Withdrawals: 52
  • Acceptances: 29

Leave a comment